Hello, world.

*taps mic* Is this thing on?

My name is Michael Khoury, Jr., but most people call me Cap on account of the deerstalker I’m almost always wearing.  And that’s Dr. Cap if you’re one of my students.

I’m assuming that almost everyone reading this first post already knows me pretty well, but just in case let’s play a little game.  Picture a math professor.  Just, whatever archetype that phrase conjures up for you.  Now make the professor male, if that wasn’t your first impulse.  And make him twenty-eight.

That guy you’re thinking about right now, that’s me.  Unless you’re reading this in the middle of the night, there’s a very good chance I have chalk dust on my pants — it’s part of the uniform.

And that guy, inspired by the many blogs of his family and friends, is finally getting on the wordpress train and putting his ideas more out in the open.

As a mathematician, my principal research area is number theory, which I construe very broadly, and automorphic forms, but I’m also interested in knot theory and ergodic theory, and some parts of combinatorics.  I find homology theory mysterious, but I hope to change that soon.  I believe expository work for a popular audience and quality education in the classroom are every bit as important as research.

I’m the husband of a wonderful wife and the proud father of two (a 6-year old daughter and a 5-month old son).  I have a enormous appetite for solving puzzles and playing games of many sorts.

And none of those things are what this blog is about, at least not specifically, because this blog isn’t meant for anything specific.  There is no official audience in mind, no official schedule of updates.  As the name suggests, this is a catch-all place for my musings, whatnots, thingumbobs, and never-you-minds that aren’t part of any larger project.

Wait, now, what was that jargle about larger projects?  The truth is I have plans bigger than a place for my random blurbs.  I have a number of ideas for focused projects that really deserve their own site.  I don’t know how many of these I can keep going at the same time without help, so I’m going to phase them in gradually.

The first of these projects, the Not About Apples blog, is set to launch on Thursday (24 June 2009).  What’s that going to be about?  Well, not apples, that’s for darn sure.  If you’ve talked to me about my blog plans anytime lately, then you may already know what I have in mind.  The rest of you will just have to check back here on Thursday.  All I want to say now is that I’ve been thinking about the topic and squirreling away material in preparation for months now, maybe years, and I’m pretty excited that I’m finally going to do something with it.  Where by “it”, I don’t mean apples.

If all goes according to plan, there will be other projects getting underway over the months to come, including one dedicated to my mathematical research which will start up in the fall.

In the meantime, thanks for paying this visit to the inside of my mind.  There’s a smattering of links I consider interesting over there in my blogroll, in case you need something to do while you’re waiting for Not About Apples.

Leave a Reply

