Play and the Spirit

One of the programs which I listen to most weekends (whenever I get up and moving early enough) is Speaking of Faith.  It’s a dialogue about religion, faith, and spirituality, where you can hear the voices of many interesting people from across the spectrum of beliefs and traditions.

This weekend, as I was baking blueberry muffins for my anniversary breakfast, I was listening to the current episode about a subject we don’t talk about enough in our society, play.  I am a firm and vocal believer in the essentialness of play.  I firmly believe that if I stopped playing altogether, I’d lose the ability to do my job (which is mathematics).

I don’t agree with absolutely every word of the program, mostly because I think that some of what was said is a bit oversimplified.  Still it’s a good start to a conversation.  Here’s a link to that episode.

Check it out here, and if you do check it out, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

